Italian Open 2008

12 05 2008

Friday 9th of May

Volker B. arrived at about 20’00
o’clock at my flat. We agreed, that it is very important to have some
sleep before the trip to Milan. But of course we had some beer and
talk so finally I went to bed at about 23 o’clock, and get only 4
hours of sleep.

Saturday 10th of May

I Woke up at 3 o’clock, and we managed
to leave Wiesbaden at 4 o’clock and arrived at the airport in Hahn a
hour later. The flight only took 55 minutes, and still tired, we
arrived in Bergamo.

From the plane, we have to use a bus,
that took us 300m to the Airport centre. Wow how amazing. Walking
would have been much faster 🙂

Some time later, after a relaxed bus
transfer and and after we got picked up by Sandro T., we arrived at
the Kick Off House Milan. Luca F. also joined us and maybe our noise
woke up Panayotis P., so we sat down in the garden together with
Robert S. and later Maurizio L. and had a lot of talks about Kick
Off.

At around 12 o’clock we finally went to
the Church where Gianni T. and the rest of the locals build up some
Amigas. We spoke with John H. about a perfect tournament preparation,
and so I came to the conclusion, that I have to buy at least one
bottle of beer. Cause I remembered last year, I also got some
lemonade and chocolate. Unfortunately the gate to the church was
closed when we returned, and we had no mobile phone with us. But
before we got into panic mode, somebody let us in.

So well prepared the tournament
started. I first had to play against Gianni T., which is always as
big fun to me, cause I have no chance at all, and simply could train.
This time he let me even score 3 goals, so my first goal, to score at
least one goal per game was nearly reached after the first match.

Unfortunately the next game was against
Volker B. I hoped before, I could surprise him, but he torn me to
pieces and won 5:0. At that moment I was not I a good mood at all 🙂

I can’t remember all this looses
against the top 10 players, so I will concentrate on the games
against the people that play a the same level than me (yes these
people exist 🙂 or slightly above my level. Last year there were no
Italians that match these category, but this time there were a lot of
them. This is very nice to see.

First I played against Simone C. and I
managed to win my first game in Milan. Simone C. seemed to train with
Alessandro Gu. a lot and both profit of that.

I also won against Alessandro Gu. even
that he leads already 2:0, but then I scored 3 goals. I was very
happy that I managed to came back in the game, cause concentration is
one of my weak points. On the other side, The games against Simone C.
and Alessandro Gu. became a kind of a derby, cause we played in Rome
as well against each other, and both times we played in a friendly
but challenging atmosphere. Hope to play against these two soon at
the next tournament again.

Against Flavio Z. I scored a draw, and
because he dominated first half and I did the second, it was a fair
result. Against Alessandro C. I also managed to scored a draw. Even
that he scored last in the tournament, he was much better in that
game then me, and I was really happy about the only 0:0 in the whole
tournament.

I also had a change against Angelo S.
, but my goal for the 1:2 was in the last second and came to late.

No chance at all of course I had
against Robert S. After 10 seconds I got already 2 goals. But my
goals was to get less then 8 goals like last year, and finally I
scores 0:7 so I reached my goal.

So finally I ended up at place 14. That
is an improvement to the last issue of the Italian open. This year I
wasn’t that out powered at the end, maybe because I got my first
victory quickly. On the other side, I had my well known problems in a
lot of games, so that I have to continue training to get rid of them.

Beside to see that there are also
normal Italian kick off players 🙂 it was cool to see that Luca F.
and Luigi F. are damned good players, and will mix up the rankings a
lot in the future. Panayotis P. is also on its way to the top, so we
will see a lot of good games in Athens later the year I promise.

Now it was time for the prize giving
ceremony and no surprise for us, either me nor Voker B. got one of
the 3 medals for the best foreign players, even that there were only
5 foreigners :-). Therefore all participants got a medal, that fits
fine in my shrine of Kick Off consolation gifts.

I had to do some pressure on Volker B.,
to let us start to the airport in time. In the end we had one and a
half hour time left at the airport, but I hate to be late at the
airport cause I did in the past quit often when I went to other ATARI
parties.

Many thanks to all the people (Gianni
T., Sandro T., Maurizio L., Alessandro V.) in Milan that let this
nice event happen. Next year I hope not to miss the pizza in the
evening, cause of course there is no place where you can eat such
good pizza then in Italy.

The way back the plane was 35 minutes
earlier in Hahn as expected! But the one hour drive back home to
Wiesbaden was a really pain, We were on the road now for 22 hours and
finally arrived about 1 o’clock on Sunday in Wiesbaden. And the
schedule for the next Tournament (IKOV Summer Tournament 2008) said
that we only have 10 hours time left.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

