HXC Floppy Emulator inside my STE

3 05 2009

A while ago, when I got my SD Card Floppy Emulator for my Mega STE, I also heard about the HXC Floppy Emulator. Some weeks ago, Newa told me, that he bought two of them, and he was so kind and give on of them to me for 75 Euro.

Yesterday we build it in SiThfrEak my ATARI 1040 STE. You have to connect the HXC to the floppy cable and that’s all on the STE side.

A first booting of the STE shows the espected green Desktop. If there is no floppy anymore, so there are no icons left on the Desktop. Fine

Next was to prepare a PC. Because we are both lamers, we hesitate to try it with Linux and use Windows instead. Shame on us. So we installed the software from the webpage and started the program. Next we connect a USB cable from the PC to the HXC and drag a disk image to the running program. But nothing happend.

Well on LED on the HXC was on, so we see that there was power. So we had a look on the online manual again. Well it’s mostly in french, but there are a step by step explanaition in pictures, so we estimate that we had to install a driver before we could use the PC programm.

So we download the driver and installed it. Restart the programm, drag the disk image again, and reboot the STE. And it works. Great.

Now years after the SIO2PC we have something similar on the ST, great work. The Floppy Emulator also work on a lot of other computers like Speccy, Amiga, CPC etc.

I hope to get another one for my Amiga.

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 05 2009
stickhead

Oooh… this appeals to the magpie within me. I want one! Did you know it comes in a SD card flavour too? That way it can be used independently of your PC (windows? bleh!). What’s the compatibility like on this? Run into any problems yet?

7 05 2009
kradd

There is a version planed that will also have a SD card. Cause I allready own another floppy emulator for my ST that only have a SD card, I was more interested to have an alternative with a USB connection to a pc host.

Leave a Reply

